Return to frontpage

Election Symbols (Reservation & Allotment) Order, 1968.

FOR COIMBATORE 23/11/2017: A party worker aptly waves the two leaves symbol in front of the picture of the Late former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa and the present Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami at the AIADMK party office in Coimbatore on Thursday, on the heels of the Election Commission allocating the symbol to the faction led by Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister. Photo:S. SIVA SARAVANAN | Photo Credit: S. SIVA SARAVANAN

The dispute within the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) over the party's election symbol—the two leaves—was settled after the Election Commission allotted the symbol to the faction headed by the Chief Ministery, Edappadi K. Palaniswami, and the Deputy Chief Minister, O. Panneerselvam. The dispute arose after the party split into factions following the death of party supremo and chief minister Jayalalithaa on December 5 last year. Following the dispute, the Election Commission had frozen the symbol and had debarred the factions from using the name of the party while contesting the R.K. Nagar by-elections, which was subsequently postponed following allegations of largescale bribery of voters. The R.K. Nagar by-polls will be held on December 21 and the results will be declared on December 24. The Commission also allotted the arrow symbol, the election symbol of the the Janata Dal (United), to the faction led by Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, dismissing the claim of Chhotubhai Amarsang Vasava. The dispute arose after the party split following Nitish Kumar's exit from the 'Mahagathbandhan'—the party's alliance with Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress.
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email The Hindu Centre